10
Out
08

Links para o fim-de-semana | Links for the weekend


Uma história amarga | A bitter story

Mais um relato dos despedimentos no Spokesman-Review, desta vez de uma das jovens editoras web. É pena ver gente assim tão empenhada ir para a rua.

Another account on the layoffs at the Spokesman-Review, this time from one young web editor. It’s a shame to watch people that commited get canned.

I will miss the honor of being able to say to someone, “I work for The Spokesman-Review” When we got the announcement that 21+ people would be laid off, including myself, I wondered who would be without the Review. The sensible answer is that I wouldn’t change as a person – I would retain all the skills gained and life would move forward, eventually. I’d find the next thing, just like when somebody gets a divorce they (might) move on.

But that doesn’t negate the value that the S-R has in the community among its readers – A newspaper will always be a big deal, and it will always be a big deal to have that honor of reaching out to readers who wake up in the morning and get crisp warm newspapers on their doorsteps, welcoming us into their homes and exposing us to their children – or in this day and age, opening up the computer and exposing their household to our video stories on the web. I get butterflies in my stomach not just when nice guys hold my hand, but when little old ladies tell me how long they have been subscribers and how much they wait for it in the morning.

S-R web producer says goodbye to the newsroom she loves

Mais uma vez, a sabedoria de Mindy McAdams merece ser partilhada.

Once again, Mindy McAdams wisdom deserves to be shared.

As I’ve been writing about j-school curriculum here this week, I’ve also been pondering methods that work well in teaching. This is my 10th year as a professor (crazy!), and like most college educators, I learned on the job.

The best way to learn is by doing. That’s what I’ve concluded, and I know it’s not earth-shattering — but some students (and journalists) are dead set on what they think of as “being taught.” They want to sit in a room and have someone transmit knowledge to them right there.

Experience, the best teacher

Mais um post da série Too old to become a journalist do Journalism.co.uk. Se vocês soubessem como me revejo nisto…

Another post from the Journalism.co.uk series Too old to become a journalist. If you only knew how much i relate with this…

What do you send in to The Times if you’ve never had anything published? Unbelievably or perhaps naively I sent in a piece on window box gardening and a snippet on why there should be more nasty, abusive greetings cards on the market!

Both pieces I had done as homework for my course. Both pieces now make me cringe to my very core.

They bought it and the story. My first ever piece was a joint front cover for the Times’ T2 supplement (shared with now WSJ style magazine Editor Tina Gaudoin no less) complete with dreadful picture of me fingering a pile of old Vogues.

I was so overwhelmed I think I hid in the corner and didn’t write another word for six months. Not very ballsy hack with rhino skin… more Miss Marple.

No one else could have written that story and a personal experience timed with a current issue is usually the best way to start.

Too old to become a journalist: How I started freelancing

Esta é a resposta de Jeff Jarvis ao artigo de Paul Farhi na American Journalism Review, do qual também se falou por estas margens.

This is Jeff Jarvis answer to Paul Fahri’s article in the American Journalism Review, that was commented  around here too.

Paul Farhi of the Washington Post issues a resounding apologia for journalists in the American Journalism Review, arguing that the fall of newspapers isn’t their fault. Then Roy Greenslade leaps up with a resounding hear! hear! They echo a defense earlier this year from Adrian Monck (who had decreed, “The crops did not fail because we offended the gods”).

Though I respect these three men, I must call bullshit.

The fall of journalism is, indeed, journalists’ fault.

It is our fault


AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Share on FriendFeed


0 Respostas to “Links para o fim-de-semana | Links for the weekend”



  1. Deixe um Comentário

Deixe um comentário


I moved | Mudei-me

Sharks patrol these waters

  • 133.175 nadadores|swimmers
who's online

Add to Technorati Favorites

View my FriendFeed



Twitter

Add to Technorati Favorites Creative Commons License

Naymz | LinkedIn

View Alex Gamela's profile on LinkedIn

View Alex Gamela's page at wiredjournalists.com


Videocast

Top Clicks

  • Nenhum

a

Ouçam o meu podcast AQUI | Listen to my podcast HERE |


My del.icio.us

Use Open Source

LastFM

 

Outubro 2008
S T Q Q S S D
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031